• Sunday , 25 August 2019

Opensource.com January preview

Code Canyon

Happy New Year! And now for a look at what’s coming up on Opensource.com this month.

Save the dates: #SCaLE14x Twitter chat

Join us for a Twitter chat hosted by @Opensourceway to talk all things #SCaLE14x. Tune in during the following times to chat with event organizers and speakers before they gather in Los Angeles for SCaLE 14x January 21-24:

  • Wednesday, January 13 @ 2pm ET / 11am PT (19:00 UTC)
  • Thursday, January 14 @ 2pm ET / 11am PT (19:00 UTC)

SCaLE 14x series

We’ll kick off our SCaLE 14x series on Monday, January 11. The series includes interviews with speakers and in-depth articles about the projects, technologies, and topics they’ll discuss at the event.

SCaLE is already incredibly affordable, but you use the discount code OPEN to get a 40% discount off registration.

Getting started in open source

On January 18, we’ll launch a series of articles focused on how to get start in open source. Can’t wait until January 18? Neither could we, which is why we posted an article by Chris Aniszczyk (How students can get started contributing to open source software) early.

Calls for proposals

Careers in open source: We want to hear about your open source-related work, tips for succeeding in a tech career and for showing open source skills on tech resumes, advice for advancing your career by growing your network, and insights into how attending conferences can get you hired. Proposals are due by January 22. Drafts are due by February 7.

Diversity in Open Source: How did you increase diversity in your project and community? Tell us about your open source-related grants or scholarship opportunities. Do you have tips for attracting a more diverse pool of contributors? How has increasing diversity in your community helped? Proposals due by February 5. Drafts are due by March 7.

Check out our editorial calendar to keep an eye on other upcoming themes.

Write for us

Send us your story ideas, and see our editorial calendar and columns for writing opportunities. We’ve rounded up 7 big reasons to contribute to Opensource.com. Got questions? Email us at open@opensource.com.

Are you organizing a 2016 open source conference or event? Be sure to add it to our community calendar.

If you have questions, you can find us on Freenode IRC at #opensource.com, or email us at open@opensource.com.


Source link

3d Ocean

Related Posts

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.