Canon EOS R5 Review: Travel & Landscape Photography (one MAJOR flaw nobody talks about)



KEH is the original renewer and reseller of quality camera gear. Sell your used camera gear, lenses and accessories at prices you can feel good about.
SELL your old camera gear for $$$: Get a quote online or schedule a virtual appointment with an expert buyer: https://SDP.io/SELL promo code T&CSELL
BUY used gear with a warranty: http://SDP.io/BUY + 5% off coupon “TNC20”

Switching to Canon from Sony video series:
Dumping Sony for Canon: https://youtu.be/NNlCJP9nDE4
Portraits: https://youtu.be/OpZuG-GYLKU

See why I didn’t switch to the a7r4: https://youtu.be/Yy-5RVm6Mck

How does a Canon EOS R5 compare to a Sony a7R III or Sony a7R IV when shooting landscapes and travel photography? Tony & Chelsea Northrup review the Canon EOS R5 full-frame mirrorless camera in the real world to help you find out!

Are you considering switching cameras? KEH has a blog that can help you decide!
https://www.keh.com/blog/how-and-when-to-switch-camera-systems?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=influencer&utm_campaign=TNC

We get our music from Epidemic Sound! Try it!:

https://www.epidemicsound.com/?utm_source=affiliate&utm_medium=paid&_us=affiliate&_usx=Chelsea3&utm_campaign=Chelsea3

Discount code is valid for 30 Days giving the user 100% free usage for the Biz sub.
Disc. Code “TONY”

Original source

43 thoughts on “Canon EOS R5 Review: Travel & Landscape Photography (one MAJOR flaw nobody talks about)

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I use to have a Samsung NX 300 and a Sony A6000 but my nephew stole both of them and sold them so now I'm saving for a better camera system

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    My Sony has always sensor dust can't wait to get rid of this shit excuse my language I am just so upset

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    When money isn't an obstacle changing is fine? Especially when you review them and you can get a break in the price? Is it how it works? Maybe?

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    one thing I slightly disliked about my EOS R, is that the top display keeps displaying even when turned off.
    And the laggyness of the EVF can also be an issue if you are shooting something that's moving quickly, I thought the R5 would be less of an issue since they have 120HZ refresh rate.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Left behind lenses, drained batteries…not taking extras and doing a review on a camera you haven’t taken the time to learn yet. A poor review because you were not prepared.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Have not been able to post process my EOS R5 Raw. Don't shoot video. How do I use Lightroom or Photoshop? Help.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Really curious… I've been looking for that typical Tony Northrup camera walk through for the R5, has Tony stopped doing these? The walk through on the 80D was what got me started following your channel and bought your guide to photography book…. hope he'll do one for the R5

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    KEH is fast and easy, and you will get no better than half what you will get if you list it and sell it on Marketplace or Craigslist. I sold my Mark IV etc. and had no problem and it got more than twice what KEH would have offered. Maybe they offer you a better price. You don't usually recommend places that are not good deals. But they were really lowball with my stuff.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I did wonder why they went with a 5 as essentially the flagship of their mirrorless lineup. Are they going to drop an R1? If not, are they doubling down on the "less bulky" thing, and thats why they dont give it the larger grip profile with greater battery of, say, the 1D<whatever>? I feel like it would do much better with that massive extra bit, including cooling and battery. And maybe people won't like the size, but I'm the type to buy the battery grip anyway, so why not just integrate it?

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Unfortunately R5 is really bad for long exposure…. Anything more than 2 minutes is unusable…Too many hot pixels….On my Z7 I can go 10 minutes and no hot pixels. If you do long exposure this is camera is not for you…

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Normal boring photos and video. Auto quality is terrible, review is terrible, please do not try and do a wildlife review because I'm sure it will be just as bad as this video. I really don't know how this channel has survived as long as it has.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Is it Canon dust protection really effective that much?
    When you are changing lenses, dust will enter in chamber between the lens and sensor and will stay there even after lens is put back. From that moment on dust inside have a chance to hit the sensor anytime. Unless shutter has brush for sweeping sensor every time it trigerrs.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I noticed on my R5 that stuck pixels (or are they hot pixels?) appear whenever the shutter speed is set to below 1/10 sec with a black image (lens cap on), and get more evident the slower the shutter speed – most noticeable at 30 sec shutter. Any shutter speed above 1/10 sec and faster, they completely disappear. This leads me to believe perhaps they're hot pixels, not stuck pixels? Interestingly, they appear on the EVF and LCD even before taking a picture. Does anyone have this as well?

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Hmm… I don't have the same battery life problem with the R5 as you did on this shoot. I've had mine since Aug 2020 and have used it pretty extensively. So far couldn't be happier.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Why did you use the ND filter in the first shot? No clouds, the water seemed flat, just couldn't figure out why you used it.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    one of the annoyances with the r5 (besides the inflated price and overheating) is that it needs to be customized much more heavily than a dslr to be enjoyable to use.

    If the body was alittle bigger it would allow an improved button layout. im still puzzled by the lack of a mechanical mode dial, no other camera company has removed it on their high end cameras. the electronic mode dial is a PITA to press – its just as bad as the touchbar imo.

    also BBAF feels a bit awkward due to the recessed feel of the AF on button, the info, Q and zoom buttons are a bit small and cramped (make sure you trim your fingernails before shooting). There are too many buttons on the right side of the camera, it just doesn't "feel" right to me. The camera will definitely produce great results but I can't help but feel the usability has been compromised. It feels more like an expensive consumer level camera than a professional tool like the 5d4.

    Canon seems to be prioritizing aesthetics and compactness over function and usability, and somebody there is making really bad design decisions. Its seems like the team that designed the pro DSLR bodies (5d4, 1dx3) had zero input for the RF bodies. The extending zoom mechanism of the rf 70-200 2.8 is too cumbersome for shooting sports.

    I'm curious to see the body design of the R1, the rumoured professional level body. if they get that right it would give me hope that things could change in the future bodies.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I loved the Niantic dock photos, among others, and especially enjoyed Pixel’s cameos. This may sound odd, but shout out to B&H. I’ve shopped with them for decades but never in person and it is fun to see some of the actual people. Finally, I don’t get all the comments about switching systems. One of the main reasons for following this channel is to get Tony and Chelsea’s take on camera gear. It would be a bit limiting to review one body and three lenses over and over again. Plus, many people who are in a position to do so actually do own multiple systems, or change systems periodically. It keeps the industry alive and also provides quality used gear for the pre-owned market.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I prefer the Sony system because of the option to use Sigma and tamron glass. The Sony 135mm is small, Sigma 85mm 1.4 DN is small, and most of the tamron lenses are also small. There is more small glass available for Sony then there is for Canon

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Is there any way when doing these reviews, you could see how this camera performs with the legacy glass. Thank you. Enjoyed the review.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    Did I miss something? I saw a video where you said you were switching to Canon, now you say you might be? Please clarify.

  • December 20, 2020 at 19:55
    Permalink

    I want a new camera so bad and can't choose between canon r5 and sony a7r iv but after reading a lot I'll just go for the R5 for personal reasons.

Leave a Reply