• Sunday , 7 June 2020

Code Review – Small JavaScript Projects

Code Canyon



In this video I review a viewer submitted website consisting of many small JavaScript projects. The code of these projects is overall really strong, but there are plenty of places where I go through ways to clean up the code and make it more usable and readable. This is mostly done through using modern ES6/ES7 to rewrite old syntax, cleanup global variables, and remove callback hell.

🚨 IMPORTANT:
If you would like to submit your own project for review please send me a message on Twitter (@DevSimplified) or leave a comment with a link to your project.

🧠 Concepts Covered:
– Converting callback hell to promises and async/await
– Cleaning up global functions by using classes
– How to use classes to cleanup code
– How to properly name variables and functions
– Future proofing code

🌎 Find Me Here:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DevSimplified
GitHub: https://github.com/WebDevSimplified
CodePen: https://codepen.io/WebDevSimplified

#CodeReview #JavaScript #CodeRefactor

Original source

3d Ocean

Related Posts

9 Comments

  1. Web Dev Simplified
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    If you want to see me review your project next leave a link here!

  2. hpno
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    i love the silly intros lmao

  3. indrajit saha
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    Can you please do a video on what to do after we've created a website , like creating backlinks, converting http to https for security etc, as a step by step tutorial or a series. I didn't find any video doing this and thought you explain it well, so asked if you could do it? Thanks for making these videos btw.

  4. MudasRee
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    came here from Dev Ed channel . And loved your content.
    #subscribed πŸ˜€

  5. Eddie Jaoude
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    Great work πŸ‘. Thanks for sharing. You should some of these as live streams also πŸ€“πŸŽ₯

  6. natqe
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    I like you to review my project ->
    https://github.com/natqe/utilizes#readme

  7. Handmakerz HM
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    πŸ‘=> { ' Great job and information as well as the full stack course' }.πŸ‘=> { ' The code reviews are well needed and rare to find with good examples. '}.πŸ‘=> { ' .This , and the full stack course helps alot + always appreciated }.(πŸ‘)=>{ ' Great job and valuable content. '}.(πŸ‘);

  8. Ebrahem Luhar
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    Nice one. A lot of good info dude.

  9. Annie Taylor Chen
    May 18, 2019 at 17:59

    The difference between newbies and seniors are how you organize your code in a clean, readable, efficient, and future-proof code. ^^ A great learning journey! I do have a question: if one page contains a lot of small projects and each has its own long js file, will adding more such projects to this page slow down the speed of the whole page? If it's in this case, what is the best way to handle this?

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.