Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/plugins/wp-automatic/wp-automatic.php on line 70

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; COUNT_CLASS has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/functions.php on line 1713

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; sidebar_generator has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/plugins/multiple_sidebars.php on line 29

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_video_widgets has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/video.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_soundcloud has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/soundcloud.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_counter_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/social-counter.php on line 9

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_news_in_pic has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/new-in-pic.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Flickr_Widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/flickr.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_fb_likebox has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/fb.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_google_follow has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/google-follow.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_popular has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/popular-posts.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_recent_posts has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/recent-posts.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_cate_posts has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/category-posts.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; tabs_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/tabs.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_youtube_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/youtube-subscribe.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_social_links has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/social-links.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_comments_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/comments.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_author_bio has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/bio-author.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_login has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/login.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_search_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/search.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Ad_120_600_Widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/ads120.php on line 7

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Ad_125_125_Widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/ads125.php on line 7

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Ad_250_250_Widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/ads250.php on line 7

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Ad_300_300_Widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/ads300.php on line 7

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_tweets_load has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/twittes.php on line 10

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; feedburner_widget has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/newsletter.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_related has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/related.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_slider has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/slider.php on line 6

Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; bd_top_rate has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/vhosts/eduardoarellano.com/d4mations.com/wp-content/themes/renad/includes/widgets/top-review.php on line 6
Nikon D850 Review For Wildlife, Landscape, and Nature Photographers | D4mations.com
  • Monday , 1 March 2021

Nikon D850 Review For Wildlife, Landscape, and Nature Photographers

Code Canyon



Nikon D850 Review
A complete review of the Nikon D850 from a wildlife / nature photographer. Covers all the exciting new features – and more importantly, how to actually use them. It’s also loaded with tips, tricks, and advice for getting the most from your camera.

Be sure to stop by the blog post on my site for even more info:

Nikon D850 Review

Check out my e-books, Secrets To The Nikon AF System and Secrets To Stunning Wildlife Photography:

Photography How-To Books And Videos



Original source

3d Ocean

Related Posts

50 Comments

  1. Manoj Prabhakar
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Best review and usage of Nikon D850 🙂 Looking quite long for this kind of video with proper explanation. Gr8 and please continue posting good learning videos.

  2. EGlideKid
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    This was a very good review and source of information, Steve. When the time comes to up my game from my 610 and 500, the 850 will be my choice. Thanks for all your hard work on these videos. I really enjoy your stuff.

  3. Michael Wenzel
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Steve, love your review! BTW- What Tripod/Camera mount are you using?

  4. Andrew Lasser
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Been looking at a few different reviews and people are complaining about the AF system in this camera. How do you feel about other reviews versus your own on AF. You seem to have quite a bit more detail around this topic so I'd tend to accept your review over theirs, but I'm still weary of these others reviews I've seen with the negative chatter on AF. Thought

  5. Marc Wittenborn
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    thx so much. helpful informations here!

  6. Leroy 500
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I tried focus stacking with my Nikon 60mm micro F 2.8d only to see the warning that Focus Shift couldn't be done with my current settings. For focus Shift on Nikon website I see that it has to be the AF-S or AF-P. Which Nikon micro lenses do you use? Thank you very much for your input.

  7. John Sinclair
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Excellent and informative video. Thank you.

  8. KnorpelDelux
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Just a personal opinion flying by: I really don't see the hype with touch-screens on cameras. Maybe I am old-fashioned but I prefer good old buttons and I don't think changing focusing points or going through menus in my Nikon is much of a hassle without a touch-screen.

  9. Paul Campbell
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Sanderlings in FLIGHT – Steve, you are THE MAN!

  10. Michael Gomez
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Steve , You are very good at this. Keep up the great work.

  11. Frank Romero
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Do you use Crop Mode in the D850 to take bird pictures? Would you?

  12. Andrew Brofman
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    At 11:34 into the video, the D850 is visible with the caption "180K RGB Pixel Meter AF Improvements". Anyone know what lens is shown on the camera?

  13. Daniel Murphy
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    This is the best and most useful camera review I've seen, every question I have on the D850 thouroughly answered and the answers justified and proved, I have a new favourite channel!

  14. Milan Pintar
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I've heard the grip improves the autofocus speed

  15. Amlan Mohapatra
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Now i am quite clear that I should buy the d500 instead of the d850

  16. Amlan Mohapatra
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Tons of thanks for the very informative video

  17. Dan Heitman
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Any idea when they might come out with the D860?

  18. Max Meier
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    If you needed the battery grip (plus all that comes with that, battery, charger) you might as well go for the D5 in the first place, because at that point it's just 5 grand for the 850 vs 6 for the D5.

  19. My Road Tours
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    So much solid info in one video! I have to pause and finish watching later.

    PS: If and when Nikon releases a D860, this could be the ultimate camera! I mean Nikon is ever so slowly updating the D800 system and narrowing the gap in a lot of places between it and the pro bodies. All they have to do for example is tweak the AF some and increase the buffer size and Wildlife shooters will have an awesome FX body!

  20. James Archer
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Disappointed that only two "D" series lenses made the cut. And I find hard to accept that my glorious Nikon 80-200 2.8 D did not qualify which I find to be superb. Fine review.

  21. Stacy Morin
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I am shooting with a Nikon d7000. What would you recommend for an upgrade? D500, D750, or D850? I do mostly portraits, lifestyle and some birds/ Your input in appreciated! I love your book!

  22. John Lupo
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    WHAT'S SO FUNNY??

  23. Jeff Tight
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    This is a great review with lots of tips for this 850 user! Thanks!!

  24. Bill Friggle
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Great video. Not sure why I watched it. Can't afford one anyways. But you said something that made me have a thought. Being a person who has become disabled, I'm always looking for ways to get my dream camera the D500. I look for contest. You mentioned retiring your D500. If you don't need to sell it for the $$$. And don't see yourself using it. Why not do a giveaway/ contest so one of your viewer's can win a awesome camera. And hopefully one they could not afford on their own. Just a thought.

  25. Adan Jara Ayala
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Sería genial y de gran ayuda el video en español…. muchas gracias por el tutorial

  26. Alejandro Herrera
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    That cat litter container pendulum test is pure genius! Great review.

  27. Virtual Warp
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Would the Nikon 50mm 1.8G be any good in combination with the Nikon D850? I know it's a cheap lens but I just love to use it for street photography and would hate to replace it.

  28. EDSON IZAIAS
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    A great video man. Congratulations.

  29. Khwaja Imran Mohammed
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    One of the best camera and I bought my D850 on 9-September-18. Really privileged to have one 👍👌

  30. Thomas Wirtz
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Hi Steve – great review of the Nikon D850. After listening to you describe the focus stacking capabilities of the D850, I re-read the section in your book "Secrets to the Nikon AF System" about focus stacking. Watching this video and reading that section of your book raised the following question for me: Would it be possible to use the D850's focus stacking feature to make focus stacked, multi-row panoramas in combination with Adobe Lightroom/Photoshop CC or some other focus stacking software and if so, what steps would need to be followed to do so? Thanks again for your great reviews!

  31. Vmax Rocks
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I've just picked up a D850. This is the crazy part, it's my first DSLR. I've been dreaming of learning Landscape and Nature photography. I'm normally a one and done kind of guy, so I followed that idea with this camera. I'm on the steep side of the curve so this video was wroth it's weight in gold. Thanks Steve and If I cant become half the photographer that you are I'll be a happy fulfilled guy.

  32. Dharmendra Acharya
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I've watched thus video several times. Amazing review and tons of information. Love it. Thank you. Happy to subscribe!

  33. Paolo Caffeina
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Have you problems with hot/stuck pixel that randomly appear on your long exposure? [ https://imageshack.com/a/img922/9503/dTPmEW.jpg ] I've some problems and sensor remapping don't fix anything

  34. LaRell
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Awesome! I am going to be upgrading to a Nikon D850 I'm pretty sure real soon, so I greatly appreciate reviews like this!

  35. victor Popukh
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Hi I was wandering if d810 is good for wild life photography (like flying objects) is it possible to get good shot with d810,because I know that it has terrible AF tracking. Reply is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

  36. Norman Zeb
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Hi Steve…Great Channel!, thank you for all the videos!
    I have a question for you and your fans here if Anyone can possibly help me here I''d really appreciate it, thanks in advance. My first full frame camera is Nikon d850 Amazing camera!
    Anyhow please somebody who owns this camera do let me know if you find out how to program the AF area mode to cycle through different AF modes by setting it on any one of the function keys in customized controls I can't seem to find any such option as a possibility…. I called Nikon and the tech support there did not know exactly how to but did tell me that I should be able to…Thank You All.
    I do know about the dedicated AF/M button on lower left of camera body, used with the back dial and sub command dial, that's a dedicated auto focus area mode cycle button, the reason I don't want to use that or I can't use that rather is when I use a heavy lens and hold it up with the left hand at the same time I cannot push AF/M button easily with my thumb while supporting the lens and zooming in and out, to be able to hand hold lens from my left hand and change AF area mode from right hand customized button (either Pv or Fn1 or even the sub-selector button) is far more feasible for me which is the reason why they gave us the customization control feature set on this camera…Thank you again please do let me know if anyone is able to assign AF area mode cycle on ANY of the other assignable buttons.

  37. Someone
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    What kind of lenses are you using for birds photography?

  38. Horst Schoninger
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Very professional….get the most out from his reviews…..worth any minute to watch…Thanks …Steve for your work…!

  39. BODYSNATCHA
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    i can hear it on your voice steve, and i feel bad too. i have a d5500 and a d500, and would be better off with a d850, than any of these mirrorless nikons……

  40. taj robert
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    wonderful review steve. which one will be good for wildlife
    nikon d850 or d500???

  41. rayray
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Why no review on the D810? Noisiest camera I ever had, bad camera or bad make?

  42. Bill C
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Steve I have a D4S and a D500 what's your opinion if I sold the D4S and bought a D850? or would you wait for the D6?

  43. Osvaldo Cristo
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Good job on this video. I just bought your e-book for that. Congratulations.

  44. SVA1
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    I have an odd image quality thought about the D850 vs the D810 – if the hi rez 850 requires a faster shutter, especially in ambient light, the ISO is going to have to go up to have a good exposure for a given DOF. If the ISO is up, won't the quality go down? Apples to Apples, vs an 810 it seem the 850 stands to be blurry, dark or noisier. What am I missing here?

  45. Josh Ashdown
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Steve, this is a fantastic video. You were informative and kept it interesting. I went ahead and bought your book a few minutes ago and look forward to reading it and using the skills. On a side and related note, you gallery is outstanding!

  46. Sam roughness
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Is the d850 is better than d500 for wildlife?

  47. Eng Seng
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    17:11 You consider the Nikon 85mm f/1.8G to be among the best glass?

  48. srn srn
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    can nikon d850 is suitable for beginners

  49. Santiago Vanegas
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    Best D850 review ever. Actually, best review of anything ever 🙂 Everything you covered about the AF is very impressive. I’m curious if you’ve had any experience with the Zeiss Milvus lenses on the Nikon. How does the image quality compare to Nikkor primes?

  50. GOODYEAR1953
    March 9, 2019 at 09:16

    The best review I saw. Congratulations !

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.